Purchasing a used glastron. Few questions

Lyrikz

Cadet
Im very new to boats, but have been a mechanic for half my life. I have some boat questions.

I found a 2005 Glastron 205gx. Great price. It has two issues that i have concern. The hull has two spots where they
tagged a small rock and it dug into the fiberglass. Its not leaking, but its about a 1 inch wide gash.. In two places. Should that be a deal killer right there??

Second question is when he put it in reverse and was backing up, it just sounded odd. The engine sounded perfect but it just made a vibration vibrating growly noise in reverse.... Also when driving it would have a vibration to it that seemed to go away when you got up to speed.. The boat has 92 hours on it.. Looks very well taken care of and super clean.

Any thoughts/tips/suggestions??

Lyrikz

Cadet
Re: Purchasing a used glastron. Few questions

Its a v8 5.0 penta.

Here is a pic of the side of the outboard. You see the nick on the lower right side, thats one of them im talking about.

418847_494654033896331_202623936_n.jpg

See the scratches on the side, makes me wonder if he dug that into some rocks or something.

620418_494653563896378_1649550906_o.jpg

gtochris

Senior Chief Petty Officer

The hull scratches wouldnt bother me, but the damage/ scuffs on the drive plus you saying it vibrates doesnt sound right- Prop looks good and I wonder if the shaft is out of balance due to a hit...

Lyrikz

Cadet

The hull scratches wouldnt bother me, but the damage/ scuffs on the drive plus you saying it vibrates doesnt sound right- Prop looks good and I wonder if the shaft is out of balance due to a hit...

The hull scratches are deep. One isnt, but hte other two are chunks of it missing. About an inch. You can see one in the picture.

IM assuming when you put a boat in reverse and back up it shouldnt make odd noises right?

skydiveD30571

Lieutenant Junior Grade