Prop ?

tbcb7271

Cadet
I just bought a 2019 suntracker 22dlx with a mercury 115hp. I'm trying to figure out how come the boat tops out at 20mph, at full throttle it's running 6200rpm. I don't currently know what prop I have on now but I'm sure it's not the right one ?

I'm pretty new to the pontoon thing so any help would be great. I did do some reading on TAPS and lifting strakes, it was a great article where they were comparing taps vs strakes on the same boat size as mine. TAPS took the win with 1.5mph more.

JimS123

Fleet Admiral
You were not very specific so I can only guess. My assumption is you have a "Std." 4-stroke that runs at 5000-6000 rpm. Thus, for optimum performance you need to increase your prop pitch by 1 increment (2 inches). That will put you into the proper range.

You have a toon, not a speedboat, plus you don't have a lot of HP. The "correct" prop may give you a little more speed, but it is not going to be a worldbeater.

Before you do anything, verify the RPM and speed. Factory tachs aren't always correct, nor are factory speedometers.

tbcb7271

Cadet
You were not very specific so I can only guess. My assumption is you have a "Std." 4-stroke that runs at 5000-6000 rpm. Thus, for optimum performance you need to increase your prop pitch by 1 increment (2 inches). That will put you into the proper range.

You have a toon, not a speedboat, plus you don't have a lot of HP. The "correct" prop may give you a little more speed, but it is not going to be a worldbeater.

Before you do anything, verify the RPM and speed. Factory tachs aren't always correct, nor are factory speedometers.
I read everyone with the same engine and size boat running 27-30mph so I'm confused. I will change the prop to stainless and the pitch.

JimS123

Fleet Admiral
I read everyone with the same engine and size boat running 27-30mph so I'm confused. I will change the prop to stainless and the pitch.