Prop Wizard accuracy?

Tinlizzy

Petty Officer 2nd Class
...I decided to try the prop wizard, for getting me in the right range for a new prop.

This prop is for a 1971 1150 Mercury (115 hp) fitted on a 19' Marquis closed bow. The hull is a semi-v. This motor has never ran on this boat before. There are no trim tabs, or PTT. I should be hitting 4800-5300 RPM for this motor. The gear ratio is 1.78:1.

The wizard recommended a 19 pitch for water sports and a 21 for speed. Does this sound correct?

jackyack18

Cadet
Re: Prop Wizard accuracy?

I'm no expert on this at all but to give you some guidance I have a 1970 renken tri hull with the 1150 tower of power on it with a 19p prop and it shoots my boat out of the hole with no trouble and will run about 35-36 mph at WOT. (guessin about 7000 rpms) My tach might be off but thats the reading im getting....speed is accurate lowrance gps confirms this. I am looking for a prop that would give me more of a top end so im thinking about switching to a 20" or 21" prop becuase I have a ton of hole shot and it seems as if the motor is just torquing the boat around and never seems to be bogged down! It all depends on the weight/size of your boat! From reading on this website the best guidance I got was to just expirement! But then again im just a rookie, I hope I was of atleast some help to you!

JoLin

Vice Admiral

I tried prop wizard and give it a THUMBS DOWN.

I gave it engine model and year, told it I was running at 5200 rpm at WOT (300 rpm below mfr's WOT spec) and it still told me to go UP in pitch. Worthless.

Instead, I went from aluminum 17p to stainless 15p, and that put my WOT rpm right where it should be @ 5500 rpm.

JoLin

Vice Admiral