Pontoon or deck boat for bay use?

gbenmc

Recruit
Hi--I am new to boating and am looking to buy a boat that will be used primarily by my immediate family of 6 (2 adults, 4 small children). We would like to take friends, in-laws, etc., out on occasion. The pontoon boats we've looked at have the best seating arrangement and the prices are lower than deck boats, but I'm worried about handling and I'm not sure what types of waves to expect on the Bay. We will be taking the boat out on the Northern Chesapeake Bay (near North East and Havre de Grace, MD if you know the area). We will typically not be doing much long-distance boating but I would like to leave the option open.<br /><br />Any suggestions or advice on which type of boat might be the better choice?<br /><br />Thanks in advance,<br />Ben

KCook

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Pontoon or deck boat for bay use?

Since the conditions on a big bay system can vary a lot I think most of your answers are going to begin with "depends ...".<br /><br />Depends on the 'toon. The new tri-toon types are much more capable than the old 2-log 'toons.<br /><br />Depends on the deckboat. The bigger (and more expensive) models by Azure, Monterey, Sea Ray, etc will handle the rough stuff better than a traditional deckboat.<br /><br />Here is another thread to expand on the confusion - Pontoon boats? <br /><br />Kelly Cook

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner