point and condenser - Tune Up OOOOOPS!

maine4winns

Cadet
First year tuning up our 1989 Four WInns 4.3 OMC Cobra. (ignition system).

I removed the distributor cap, Removed the screw for condenser hold down and removed condenser, backed off bolt/screw for points, condenser and coil wires. Removed hold down screw for points.

Now this is where I incurred something that I have NEVER had happen! A retaining clip *(see attached picture) went flying when I removed all the wires from the hold down bolt area for the wires.

Granted this Is my first time venturing into a Cobra points ignition system, but I have done plenty of points and condensers over the years. If this "clip" is needed - could someone point me (no pun intended) in the right direction so I can procure one? I have looked over through my OMC repair manual and scoured hundreds of diagrams.

Thanks all!

Attachments

• 20240703_184819.jpg
    20240703_184819.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 20

kenny nunez

Captain
Try to find a small flat washer which should do the job over the condenser terminal over the points spring.
Be careful where you buy the ignition parts. All the big box auto stores sell trash. NAPA might be your best option.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Sometimes the points pivot has a groove to receive a circlip. Johnson/evinrude points sets have that, not sure about Cobra.

maine4winns

Cadet
Try to find a small flat washer which should do the job over the condenser terminal over the points spring.
Be careful where you buy the ignition parts. All the big box auto stores sell trash. NAPA might be your best option.
Thank you for the reply Kenny. It's funny that you suggested a small flat washer. That is exactly what I put under the wire bolt/screw in order to secure a good connection for the points/condenser and col wires.