Please Verify My Wiring Diagram

Fester

Seaman
I have completely ripped out all of the wiring in my "new" boat and looking to rewire EVERYTHING. I have never done this before and want to verify that I am going about this the correct way. Can someone....anyone, tell me whether this diagram is correct, and if not...tell me what I need to change? Thanks in advance!!

Console%20Wiring.gif

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: Please Verify My Wiring Diagram

You are ok except for the gauges. As you have them, they will be on all the time. The +12 volt feed to the gauges should come from the "A" terminal on the igntion switch which is active only when the key is on. Also, power for the gauges is daisy chained so +12V from one gauge is jumpered to the next and the next, etc. Same for ground. The internal light for each gauge is powered from the NAV side of the light switch. This way the dash lights are not on when the ANC light is on. The light switch is also the wrong type. It needs to be an ON-OFF-ON type. Up allows both the nav and anc lights to operate. Down allows only the ANC light to be on. That's a rule - not a "nice to have feature". If you are moving you are navigating. If not the ANC light is the only light that should be on. Then you might check that wiring carefully as you have 12 volts going into the switch and the output is going to ground. That makes a good fuse tester circuit in which every fuse you install will blow out instantly when you turn the switch on. You NEVER put ground on the switch. In fact all of the switches are incorrectly wired. The only ground connection on a switch is IF the switch has a pilot light built in. Here is a how a switch gets wired and how current flows. This is for a lighting circuit but it applies to any circuit.

LightingCircuit.jpg

Here is how the NAV/ANC switch is wired.

NavSwitchWiring.jpg

Fester

Seaman

Giving the fact that the wiring switch is a 3 way.....are the corrections I made the right way?