"Pinning a prop", ever heard of this?

Rowroy

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I was talking to the local marine parts guy and he mentioned that he no longer re-hubs props, but rather "pins" them. Apparently, what he does is drive several brass pins through the hub from the outer radius of the prop, thereby linking the prop, hub, and inner hub together.

He states that he can do this at a fraction of the price of a traditional re-hub job and it's much safer and will last longer. When I pressed him on maintaining alignment, he said that was a "non-issue" because the pins will hold everything in place.

This sounds like a BS fix to me, but I'm also a boating novice. Has anyone else heard of this? Am I crazy for thinking this is crazy?

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: "Pinning a prop", ever heard of this?

Besides being a poor excuse for a repair, it eliminates the benefit of having a cushioned hub. The cushioned hub helps reduce lower unit damage from a prop strike with an underwater object. Note that I said reduces!!! Hit anything like a rock at full speed and the cushioned hub won't help much.

tx1961whaler

Vice Admiral

It's a BS fix. He's either too lazy, greedy or unskilled to do a proper repair. That said, I have pinned spare prop that I keep in the boat for emergencies. It is a spun prop that is dinged up pretty bad and is the wrong pitch. I have only used it once.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

And chances are the next time that prop strikes anything it will be junk because cushion hub props are not designed for "shear pin style" operation. I suspect the hub would be destroyed.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

And chances are the next time that prop strikes anything it will be junk because cushion hub props are not designed for "shear pin style" operation. I suspect the hub would be destroyed so now you need a new prop instead of just re-hubbing.

Rowroy

Petty Officer 2nd Class

That's what I thought.

sdsaw

Petty Officer 2nd Class