Paragon Trans Compatibility?

CuttingEdgeNY

Seaman Apprentice
I have a chrysler 360 motor with a paragon v drive tranny on it. I found out that the motor is blown. I would like to put in a chevy motor cause they are easy to find parts for, as my chrysler is almost impossible to find the parts I need for the right prices. Can anybody tell me if a chevy motor would bolt up to my tranny now, or would I need to change something on a chevy motor or on my trans? Thanks. Ken

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Paragon Trans Compatibility?

The chevy won't even bolt up to the bellhousing, then you have flex plates, pilot bushings, and ................... who knows what else will be different.
The parts are available to make the changeover, but they won't be cheap.

CuttingEdgeNY

Seaman Apprentice

ok gotcha. so what tranny should I look for, brand, or model or what would fit with the chevy? I'm new to boats, and I have never looked for a trans before. All i know is that it's a v drive and the prop shaft in the bilge is a flat plate with 4 holes in it? Thanks

SSSuper83

Petty Officer 2nd Class

When you say "blown", how far gone is the 360? Hole in the block? Or just bearings and a crank? I have been a Dodge guy all my life, and believe me, it takes a lot to smoke a small block Chrysler engine. Let me know the extent..but just offhand I am guessing that keeping your Chrysler engine would be a much cheaper and smarter move.

CuttingEdgeNY

Seaman Apprentice

Hi,
when i say blown, i mean that the block is cracked. I have been looking for a new block but everyone is either selling a reman for 500-800 bucks for a block, nearly 1000 for short block, and up from there for a long block.
I can't find anybody who will sell one for just a hundred or two. But the chevy's I can find one anywhere, junkyard, friends, local redneck even. I can't find out what to do from here to get the boat in the water.

Bondo

Staff member