Overheating Please Help!

Stud man

Cadet
Sorry for the long post but I feel you need all the background info to give me good advice ..
Ok so I find the boat I want (I am a newbie to boating and this is my first boat) and make the deal with the Seller, The boat is a 1993 Sea Ray 290 with a 7.4 IO and a Bravo 2 outdrive.
I set up a sea trial (had to put it back in the water) and a surveyor . Everything looks great and we take it out for a ride. The surveyor wants to run the boat at 3000-3200 for a bit to check oil pressure and eng temps - all is good after 10 15 mins
He then wants to bring it up to 4000 -4200 but just for a short time, after about 2 mins an alarm goes off and no one seems to know what it is. We check oil and it's good but the eng temp is up around 210-220? so we back it down and limp back to the dock.
Once we get back the temp drops to around 170? and after shutting it down and letting the eng cool then restart the temp is at 150?. The weather turned bad and we cannot go back out. The seller seems to think that it is either the impeller or the thermostat and is willing to change them both.
I meet up with the seller 2 days later and we install a new 140? thermostat and a new impeller, the old impeller looked like it was brand new
Started it up , checked for leaks and got it up to temp , about 5 mins to get to 150.