outdrive adaptor/clutch stuck to outdrive input shaft

ericv26

Seaman Apprentice
not sure if I a calling it the right thing but in automotive terms it would be a clutch disc however on the boat it bolts directly to the flywheel.my set up is a 290 dp with 5.7 chevy based volvo penta. recently found blown head gasket and removed engine for rebuild. uopn removal the "clutch disc" would not come free of inpit to out drive. I have purchased a new disc but have been unable to remove old. I am a diesel tech by trade and have my choice of pullers and none have budged it. have sprayed with pb blaster and allowed to soak. though about heat but dont want to damage any seals.any thoughts guys? next I was going to use my cut off tool to cut up to just befor input shaft and try to split disc collar. have done this with bearings with alot of success but I fig with all th knowledge on this site someone would have a good trick.. thanks want to get back in the water.Eric

Bondo

Staff member
Re: outdrive adaptor/clutch stuck to outdrive input shaft

not sure if I a calling it the right thing but in automotive terms it would be a clutch disc however on the boat it bolts directly to the flywheel.my set up is a 290 dp with 5.7 chevy based volvo penta. recently found blown head gasket and removed engine for rebuild. uopn removal the "clutch disc" would not come free of inpit to out drive. I have purchased a new disc but have been unable to remove old. I am a diesel tech by trade and have my choice of pullers and none have budged it. have sprayed with pb blaster and allowed to soak. though about heat but dont want to damage any seals.any thoughts guys? next I was going to use my cut off tool to cut up to just befor input shaft and try to split disc collar. have done this with bearings with alot of success but I fig with all th knowledge on this site someone would have a good trick.. thanks want to get back in the water.Eric