Outboard maintenance for salt water

bullethead08

Cadet
Hi there...I'm new to group.
I'm in the process of putting together a new old boat.
My question has to do with the fact that my boat will be in a slip and I wont necessarily have fresh water access. Do I need to flush the motor with fresh water after every time I take it out?
Any suggestions for putting a used outboard you're not familiar with into service? I've seen it run, but beyond that I don't know anything about it.

Thanks
Bullethead

mmuutts

Seaman
Re: Outboard maintenance for salt water

Live and learn....I stick my kicker in a big bucket of fresh water about once a month...use a little vinager...I would guess you are talking about a small horse motor.

creole1977

Cadet

I would also track down the manual if possible. It would be a good idea to pull the spark plugs and have a look and change them if they are old. Not a bad idea to inspect them carefully and check for any warning signs.

Also investigate the fuel filter which is usually very easy to take care of yourself.

What kind of engine?

you should't worry about rinsing the motor if you get a chance good do it, but if you don't, don't worry about it if you use it a lot it won't matter just don't have it sit for a month or two with out being ran.

emoney

Commander