Outboard bracket mounting specifics - question

Captain Koz

Seaman Apprentice
bracket measurements 3.jpg

Hello.
I have a 26" setback, 17 degree angle, Stainless Marine brand bracket that is on a donor boat, which I am going to transplant to a 25 ft Aquasport center console (1979 246 CCP). I know that the cavitation plate has to be about 1 inch above the bottom of the boat for every foot of bracket setback, in this case lets call it 2 1/4 inches above the bottom of the boat. I believe I am over thinking this all out, but I want to make sure I am correct as once it is mounted there is no turning back.
As you can see in the pic, I used a floor jack to hold a an angle iron (straight edge) along the bottom of the boat, and used a level to make sure it is level. Then I clamped another angle iron to the bottom of the cavitation plate. I measured the difference to be about 2.5 inches. I measured 24.5 inches from the top edge of the bracket to the cavitation plate and then to the other angle iron and got 27 inches for a difference of 2.5 inches.
Am I on the right track? My confusion is mostly around the fact that tilting the motor will produce different spacing between the cavitation plate line and the bottom of the boat line, so am I correct in taking all these measurements with all parts level? Will this method give me a correct installation? I am planning on cutting a piece of plywood at 26.5 inches (2 inches above the bottom of the boat) and bolting it to the bracket to use as a guide for installation. This way all I have to do is have the plywood meet the angle iron representing the bottom of the boat. Yes, its a half inch shy of my measurements (2 1/4 inches), but that is the lowest that motor will mount on the bracket, so I can always raise the motor to increase the distance. Will this work?

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member
Re: Outboard bracket mounting specifics - question