Operators manual for '54 Johnson SeaHorse

DallasJeff

Seaman
Anybody know where I can find operating manual for a '54 Johnson Seahorse 10HP ?

Its my first time operating an outboard and I'm not sure about all of the controls. I got it started up but I'm not sure about the controls that say "low speed" and "high speed" that apparently control the gas/air mixture. Also what ratio to mix the fuel and oil. The guy I bought it from said about 40:1 but reading through the forum it seems that older motors run more like 24:1.

Also I have read that these old pressurized fuel tanks are dangerous and that I should upgrade to the newer single-line vacuum type. I read the "sticky" about doing this modification but is it really necessary?

I'd really like to find a good online guide to operating and maintenance.

Scaaty

Vice Admiral
Re: Operators manual for '54 Johnson SeaHorse

Start off reading up on what you can find (tuning is there) in the FAQS Forums.
If the tank pumps, and the hoses are good, yer fine. Rebuild parts and hose avaiable too

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

You might find an Owner's Manual on eBay, Jeff. Your model number is QD-15

If no luck there you can probably get one from www.kencook.com.

No, it will not be cheap, but it will save you several times its price very quickly.

wbeaton

Commander

Hi DallasJeff,

I can help you out with the parts manual for your motor. I also have a 1957 Johnson Operators manual, which is pretty much the same as your motor. Drop me your email via PM.

Last edited by a moderator:

DallasJeff

Seaman

Thanks Wayne, PM sent. That operators manual would be a big help. I'm embarrassed to admit I don't even know if the motor has a choke on it. Or how to work the tilt.

The previous owner told me I should replace the seals in the lower unit pretty soon. It oozes a small amount of fluid from a area he called "the weep hole". I'm glad to hear parts are still readily available.

wbeaton

Commander