OMC stringer shifting problem

jmeydenbauer

Seaman Apprentice
I just picked up a 1977 Thunderbird Formula that has some problems. It's got a ford motor and I was told it's a 351. It's got a 4 bbl. Holly double pumper on it. I read that there should be an identification tag on the valve covers but there isn't. From what I've read, the only 1977 model with a 351 was the OMC 235 hp unit.<br /><br />I'm new to stern drives but from my reseach on this site, :) it appears to be an OMC stringer 800 with electric shift. Drive is painted white and has the large rubber boot. Seperate tilt and trim. Previous owner told me he never messed with the trim, he only used the tilt while underway :eek: ... ouch. A no-no from what I've read about these drives. Ball gears appear to only be worn @ 25%<br /><br />The sterndrive has an electronic shifter and the drive will shift into forward and reverse when the engine isn't running. I checked by trying to turn the prop with the motor off. But it isn't shifting when the motor is running. The lever moves easily but no clunk or anything and the prop doesn't move. <br /><br />I read that these need to be shifted at a very low rpm which it was when I shifted. Almost to the point of stumbling.<br /><br />I've got a manual on order but it won't be here for another week or so. One note, the previous owner said the drive made a very loud grinding noise :eek: last time he had it out and he needed to get towed in. I expect to find stripped gears somewhere in there.<br /><br />I may try to pull the sparkplugs and see if turning the engine over by hand will turn the prop when it's in gear. Draining the oil should give me some more insite as to it's condition.<br /><br />Any other ideas short of pulling the drive?<br /><br />Also any other places to look for the motor identification. I found the OMC tag on the sterndrive.

Boomyal

Supreme Mariner
Re: OMC stringer shifting problem