OMC question

ravej50

Seaman Apprentice
Hi all,

New to boating..I have a 1985 Winner boat with a OMC 3.0L engine. I'm fairly new to boating and after reading a lot of posts here, found out that marine engines are not the same as car engines. The questions I have are exactly what type of OMC engine do I have? Also, since OMC's parts seem to be rare and few, how hard would it be to swap the OMC to a mercruiser 3.0L? Would I have to cut into the transom? what else would I have to do? I did search the forums for "OMC to Mercruiser" swap but nothing came up. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• IMG_7546.JPG
    IMG_7546.JPG
    92.9 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_7548.JPG
    IMG_7548.JPG
    88.7 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_7550.JPG
    IMG_7550.JPG
    94.8 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_7551.JPG
    IMG_7551.JPG
    76.7 KB · Views: 0

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner
Re: OMC question

Howdy,

It appears that you have a "stringer" drive. (the engine is GM industrial)

Yes you can put a Mercruiser in there (you can do anything you want with enough time & money)

You would have to do some rather extensive transom work to basically "fill" in the hole and recut for the Mercruiser.

Not worth it unless you have some emotional attachment to the boat.

Regards,

Rick

Lodgepole

Petty Officer 1st Class

Does the engine run OK? Does the drive work, or do you have some real problems? There are a lot of sites where obsolete parts are laying around in warehouses. I have a 92 3.0 HO Cobra and have had people tell me some parts were no longer available but have found anything I need with a little online searching. I wouldn't be too quick to junk what you have unless it needs a lot of work and parts. You can get more GOOD help than you can use on this site, just ask.

ravej50

Seaman Apprentice