OMC Cobra

aydemir

Cadet
Good evening,<br />I've just a bought a used boat with an OMC Cobra (Ford 2.3). I am quite new to boating (first boat) and also nervous about taking the boat in the water without testing the engine first. Is there a way to test this engine on my drive way? Is there a coolant port for this engine that I can attach a garden hose for example? At the water pump inlet? I don't want to do something wrong and ruin the engine, any help will be much appreciated.<br /><br />N. Aydemir

Lou C

Supreme Mariner
Re: OMC Cobra

You can run it on the hose in the driveway at home, you need to get a good set of "earmuffs", these slip over the intake ports on the outdrive, get the good kind with the hose inlet at the end of a tube that goes into both of the muffs instead of just one as on cheaper muffs. Hook up your hose to the muffs, (MAKE SURE NO ONE AT HOME IS USING THE WATER IN THE HOUSE OR YOU CAN OVERHEAT THE MOTOR!!!), make sure the drive is as far down as you can get it (remove prop to be on the safe side) and you are ready to run it. I run the blower before starting just as you would in the water. First turn on the water, then crank the motor to start. After it starts, reduce idle speed a bit, get off the boat and make sure the muffs are still on, and make sure there are no kinks in the hose. Water should be exiting from the drive (look up under the transom mount, near the bellows). Carefully watch the temp gauge to make sure it does not overheat. Most engines will not overheat at idle speeds, but if you run it faster than that the hose may not be able to supply enough water and it could overheat. Normal temp on an OMC with a 160 thermostat is about 160-175 or so. When shutting off, first turn off the motor, then turn off the hose.

aydemir

Cadet