NoOb here, 1991 23' Chris Craft Cuddy

hlhneast

Cadet
Hi, complete and total NoOb here, never delt with boats or have any boating background so take it easy on me!

Background:
My son bought a 1991 Chris Craft Concept Cuddy with a OMC 5.7 without knowing anything about this type or any boats at all. His boss talked him into it as it was cheap. Next weekend my son, my DIL and myself are all going to a Coast Guard boating class to learn the basics of operation, navigation etc. I am in construction and I like restoring classic cars so the boat's mechanical and electrical systems are not anything I believe I cannot handle.

The Boat:
The boat started its life in NY somewhere and I have no idea about that at all except it received most of its use there. It has resided in FL for the last 8 years mostly tied to a dock in Palm Coast. In its 20 year life it has accumulated just over 400 hours service according to the clock in the engine bay. The former owner is in the process of divesting all his property in FL and heading out on his 50' sailboat so the boat came up for sale. In general the boat seems to be in good shape, no jury rigged, hacked up systems except a few issues that I need to get some advice on.

The Issues:
First and most important is fuel. The PO assumed there was a problem with trash in the fuel tank, a 55 Gallon Moeller cross linked poly tank. I removed the tank and the float assembly to get a look. The bottom of the tank had a bit of gas shellac and a little moisture but thats it. What I did see was the pick up tube seemed to be sitting on the bottom of the tank. My question here would be how much gap should the pick up tube have to the bottom?