no spark evinrude 1960 75hp starflite

Ralphw62

Seaman Apprentice
hello,<br />just started a restore of this motor<br />ran well 10 years ago<br /><br />this has a magneto ignition<br /><br />my question is: if i touch a continuity checker to the bolt that comes out of the side of the distributor body(black lead wire attached) and touch the housing I get continuity. should this happen?<br /><br />I think something is grounding out, but I am far from an expert on this motor.
magneto2.jpg
<br />thanks,Ralphw

R.Johnson

Rear Admiral
Re: no spark evinrude 1960 75hp starflite

That is the coil lead to the breaker points, and yes, you would have continuity. If you hook up a spark checker, and ground it to the mounting bracket of the magneto, you can take the drive belt off, and spin the drive pulley by hand. That magneto will quite easily jump about a 3/8" gap. If it does not, clean, and set the points at .020. Take the distributor cap off, and check the coil. It was not uncommon the the coil to burn a hole out the side. The later mags had two thin nylon insulators on both sides of the coil to help with this problem. Once you have the mag working, go ahead, and replace the points if you wish. I always like to take the mag off the engine to repair, and test it at the bench. Of course you have to put it back in time with the engine when you do this, but that is really no problem if you have a manual. Once in proper adjustment, that is really a very goog magneto. Also check the rotor, cap, and ignition wires while you have it apart. The spark plug wires are screwed into the cap, don't try to just pull them out.

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner