Newbie needs help

tteal

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hi folks, I'm a newbie to smaller boats although I've been on larger boats (over 600 ft ones in the Navy - over 10 years) I virtually know nothing about the smaller ones (i.e. how to launch it, how to retrieve it from the water, etc).<br /><br />Me and my wife have been seriously considering purchasing a nice used cuddy cabin boat for a decent price. You know, something to just go putz on, pull a tube or whatever, yet good enough to spend the night if the water/weather is right.<br /><br />Do you have any recommendations on size? I mean is 19' enough on the bay or would I be better off with 21'? I really don't want something too large since I'm a newbie navigator.<br /><br />I'm not new to engines and have a race car (Supercharged Mustang) and am not afraid to get my hands dirty if I need to work on whatever engine it has. <br /><br />So do you think I could get a cuddy-type boat for a decent price? If so, what kind of price would I be looking at and what brands should I stay away from or head towards?<br /><br />Sorry for all the questions... and I really appreciate the help very much!<br /><br />Thank you very much,<br /> Tim

f_inscreenname

Commander
Re: Newbie needs help