Newbie looking for advice on connecting trolling motor battery to motor alternat

Chachi420

Seaman Apprentice
Hello, I'm a relatively new boat owner...
(If you're interested, pics of my boat are on this thread...
http://www.iboats.com/bbboard/html/...ead;fid=28;gtid=808791;gpid=808791#gpid808791 )

A friend gave me his old Minn Kota 36 lb Endura trolling motor that still works well. I just bought a huge $90 marine deep cycle battery for it and am wandering if it is possible to connect the battery to my engine alternator in some way. Also I'm not sure if my engine has an alternator, but it is a 115hp 1976 Johnson if that helps. I don't know much (if anything) about engines or boats, but this is a great forum and has already helped me out a great deal.

Thanks for any advice on this issue about charging the trolling motor via an alternator!

(now I just need to learn how and when to use a trolling motor since I'm a very novice fisherman with almost no experience) :$

SpinnerBait_Nut

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Newbie looking for advice on connecting trolling motor battery to motor alte

Re: Newbie looking for advice on connecting trolling motor battery to motor alte

Chachi, you will find that the big battery will run the trolling motor for a long time before needing charged up.
Just charge it up good and don't worry about it.
You might run into problems wiring it into the engine's charging system.

Chachi420

Seaman Apprentice

ok, thanks! I will only charge it then whenever it runs out with my wall charger (10 amp).