Newbie in need of help.

jkbordi

Recruit
Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie, and I need some help. I am looking at buying a used boat. This will be my first boat. I have read some about rotten boats. What do you guys think about a 1992 Thompson Calae 1800 boat (open bow). It is from the original owner who states it has always been in a garage. It comes with 4.3L motor. Thanks in advance for your help.

Jarrod

a70eliminator

Captain
Re: Newbie in need of help.

Sounds like a good one. Garage kept boats are few and far, so you may have just found yorself a gem.

jkbordi

Recruit

Thanks for your reply. Owner also states he has babied this boat, and is only selling it to purchase a new one. He is asking $6,000. It appears that Thompson Boats are no longer in production. Just wonder how well these boats were made. Wonder if the quality is better than a mid 80's Bayliner Capri?

Nandy

Commander

But... in the other hand, dont believe everything the previous owner tells you. Check and double check...

jkbordi

Recruit

What should I look for? I have read about tapping all over the boat to hear for dead sounds. Should a sea trial be required before I buy a boat?

I find this post hard to believe. Would you buy a car for 500 bucks and not drive it around the block first? But you ask should you give a stranger 6k and not ride for 5 minutes in the boat,? I do agree 100% with your post,You DO NEED HELP lol

FlyinGuy1017

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Yes, do a sea trial. If you're putting up 6k of your money, it's worth it. Also, how mechanically inclined are you? I always do a check of the plugs, compressions, fluids (before and after running through a few cycles), and every electrical gadget that there's a switch for. Odds are, he'll be happy to let you do any testing/checking of the boat if it has been well cared for. If he refuses, he's probably hiding something that you'd end up finding only after the boat is yours.