Newbie here from Iroquois

Will-Sandy

Seaman Apprentice
I am starting to look for a boat for the wife and I, am looking for a 17' or 18' boat with fuel efficiencies as a priority, plus a sun bed for the wife, the boats I have looked at all have the same 3.0 Merc engines and we will be boating on the St. Lawrence river which is fresh water, I really don?t want to pay more than $20,000.00 since I will be retiring shortly, can anybody give me their top 10 list in bowriders, which we should look at

Thanks

Steve Mahler

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Newbie here from Iroquois

I think the first priority is finding a local dealer you like, with a good service department. Beyond that, I would suggest going for a higher quality builder so you get nicer seats, fabric, hardware. In a small runabout, the base construction and hull design are similar across the industry. I prefer Chapparall, Regal, or Sea Ray for seating quality. I am not a fan of the 3.0 because of noise and vibration, and would opt for the V6 - which will give nearly the same fuel usage.

Will-Sandy

Seaman Apprentice

Looked at Chapparall website nice boat but out of my price range, will check out the other two you mentioned

The Rooster

Ensign

+1 for Steve's comments. With your budget Will, there should be plenty of quality rigs on the used boat market. Good luck.

Will-Sandy

Seaman Apprentice

Regal does not make 18' that I could find, Searay is expensive and not really impressed with the seating in front (haven't got the terminology down yet)

Will-Sandy

Seaman Apprentice

Four Winns H180 is selling at a good price any thoughts

Will-Sandy

Seaman Apprentice

Sorry The Rooster, my budget will probably be $10,000 to $15,000 wife is nervous about buying used

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

You want a new boat, asked for our list of top brands, but then your budget is 10-15k? Pretty sure that limits you to maybe Bayliner or Tahoe and perhaps a stripped model Four Winns or Glastron.

Will-Sandy