New to Regal Boats.

CaptainKev

Petty Officer 2nd Class
In 2007 I became the proud owner of a Yellow 2008 Regal 2400. It has the Volvo 5.7 Gi and dual prop stern drive. Overall, I love the boat. There is one question that I have..........I would like to know if anybody else with a similar drive system has any problems with responsiveness while reversing? My boat seems to be very sluggish and reluctant to turn in reverse. In forward, it's a dream. When if I try to modify any rearward direction, at idle speeds, the boat tends to yaw, rather than turn. Even if I blip the throttle the bow will not come around, as I would expect. One test that I tried was a figure eight, in reverse, in both clockwise and counterclockwise directions. I tried this on a local lake with very little wind and in a sheltered cove. The boat will complete the first loop, but refuses to change directions for the second loop, other than to yaw off at an angle. I've some experience with various types of propulsion systems, but this is my only experience with counter-rotating props. While I understand that this test is extreme, the lack of control is identical with normal manouvering at a dock, or slip. Other than this anomoly, the boat is wonderful. It hits plane very quickly and cuts through heavy swells and choppy waters far better than any boat I've ever owned. Any help, coments, or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Mischief Managed

Lieutenant Commander
Re: New to Regal Boats.

My bravo 3 equipped 2550 LSC does the same. The trick is to bump it in and out of gear to stop the rearward movement and instead kick the stern sideways. I also put a "suicide knob" on the wheel and bump it in and out of forward gear with the wheel turned the other way, then spin the wheel back and bump it in and out of reverse, etc, to spin around in tight quarters.

CaptainKev

Petty Officer 2nd Class