New power which prop

Mac525

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hi guys I have and 1972 Zeta 24 that Im repowering with a mercruiser 2008 350 mpi mag and a bravo 2 leg with 2.0 gearing. 24 feet 24 degree dead rise fully loaded with gear and 55 gallons of fuel ot will be around 5500lbs. I would like to put a stainless prop on and there are not many to be had to try out. I'm looking for the best mpg cruise as the most important goal. There is very little info on boats with the bravo 2 so any help would be great thanks

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: New power which prop

Welcome,
Unfortunately I have no experience with a B2.
I can tell you that any marine engine needs to rev freely within its rated rpm
range.and should be propped to reach very close to its max rated rpm at wot.
If you read the stickies at the top of the page and the helps on the prop store page it will help you understand prop selection.Your info to this point seems very good and we'll be glad to help with any confusion.
If you have a prop at this point run it and get us the size and results.max rpm and speed.

Mac525

Petty Officer 3rd Class

I do not have a prop because they are few and far between and I cant find one to "try" the recomended wot is 5200 and the rev limiter will be at 5400 which is where I want it to be when empty at wot. The boat will be used for inshore and offshore fishing with some extended cruise times to the fishing spots. A stainless prop is what I will be putting on due to the fact that it is in the water all the time. Its too bad piranha does not make one for the bravo two because I like all the pluses of a comp prop. Please I dont want 16 posts from people telling me how bad comp props are unless you've had one on your boat.Any way I need to be pretty sure of the prop before I order it so if you guys could help me out that would be great Thanks Cam

Robbabob

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Mac,