New Owner In Need Of Help Selecting A Motor... HELP

Dry Diver

Seaman
Hello everyone.

Let me first say that I am a newbie to Inflatables. I just purchased an Achilles 16' With a wooded floor. I bought the moat used and the motor that the guy has on it is seriously under powered. He said that he ran it with a 20HP and it ran well. It currently has a 5HP Johnson on it. I am unsure of the year, maybe someone here can help with that too. The number are as follows off the motor.

LD13-E and
J2882047

My question is what size motor will be enough. Ya, Ya I know you can never have enough and everyone's thoughts on enough are different. I will be using the boat as a dive boat. There will be up to three adults in it at one time with dive gear for two dives, i.e. six tanks 3 BC's and so on. I would like to be able to get two dives in before having to go back to the launch.

The plate on the transom says that the boat will handle up to a 60HP motor. I would like to stay with a tiller style motor to keep the floor plan on the boat as spacious as passable.

So with the above information what do you guys think. I am not looking to win any speed races but I don't want to take forever getting there either. It is more important that the motor be able to get the three of us and our gere out there and back safely.

Thanks in advance for all of the input.

bayman

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: New Owner In Need Of Help Selecting A Motor... HELP

I would agree with you - a 5 hp is going to be too small. A 16 foot boat is fairly large so I'm guessing that you won't be carrying it to the water. (If you were going to have several people carry the boat to the water then I would say that you would want a smaller engine which you can carry.)