New guy, bare with me. troubleshooting hard to start condition on 75 Johnson

Av3ngeme

Cadet
Alright folks, I apologize in advance as I'm new to boating but I am mechanically inclined and am good with cars, though it seems that some of that knowledge doesn't exactly translate over very well, lol.

So I bought an old Johnson Fiberform with a Johnson 70hp on the back (70esl75e) and I've been troubleshooting a hard to start condition, after some mucking around with choke and the enrichment lever it will eventually start but it takes about 10 damn minutes.

When I got the boat it fired up attached to muffs with no issues, I had to replace the shift cable and after I did this I adjusted a the low idle and I'm afraid I may have screwed something up. Being overzealous I didn't realize that this also controls timing (again used to vehicles)

So here's what I did, using the below picture I'll try and explain. I adjusted the idle set screw as it seemed that the idle was set far too low (waiting on a tach) and it would stall. After this was done and the boat was idling by itself I noticed that the roller (marked on the pic) was not sitting at the start position when the motor was off and everything was in a neutral position so I adjusted the arm that connects the cam to the throttle lever so that it was just barely touching because where it was sitting before would prevent the cam from opening the throttle bodies all the way which would have prevented me from getting WOT. Now I'm concerned I may have screwed up the timing without realizing it, it's just a pain to start...once I do get it going it runs great and had it up to 30mph to test it out during a 30 min run and it never stumbled once....but what a pain to get going.