new bass boats

johnntab

Seaman Apprentice
I am a long time fisherman, but I am still new to bass boats. My fishing buddy and I have used his 14' jon boat up to this point, but now we are ready to upgrade to a bass boat. I have looked at some of the big names in boats, and gotten a few prices. I am looking for something about 17 -19' with dual console for 20,000 or less. I know these are high expectations, but I have found a few prospects (Skeeter SX 180, Nitro NX 750). <br />I am looking for some advice from experienced boat buyers and sellers. What should I look for in a new boat to be used for bass fishing and occasional recreational boating? I have one specific question: What is a jackplate and what is it's purpose? The sales rep at local dealership advised that his boat did not have a jackplate, but he would recommend having one installed. <br />Also what HP engine is needed to get a good response and good handling from a 17-19' boat?<br />Thanks in advance for all your help<br />boatless bass man

red10

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: new bass boats

bassman, a jackplate will allow to adjust the vertical height of the motor to get better performance and a "cleaner" path of water for the prop to run in. you might need at least a 150 hp motor for that boat depending on what you want for speed and acceleration.

JasonJ

Rear Admiral