new 20 hp honda with controls, no go, just idles

stevepgill

Cadet
Hello,<br /> I just installed a new 20 HP honda with tilt and forward controls. I can only get it to start and idle. The tilt also works. When I shift the lever full forward or back nothing happens. Just idles with no change in rpm. Did I miss something in the installation? There are two plug ins that go into the engine comapartment at the end of the control harness. Is something missing? You probably can tell that I am new to all this. Thnaks in advance for any help or tips you can give me before I embarrass myself at the dealer.<br /><br />Best Regards,<br />Steve Gill

MajBach

Chief Petty Officer
Re: new 20 hp honda with controls, no go, just idles

Does it go into gear?<br />It sounds to me like the push-rods are not hooked up behind your control lever.

stevepgill

Cadet

No it does not go into gear, is there another cable that needs to be hooked up besides the electrical cable with two plugs at the end?<br /><br />My control only has one large bundle of electrical cables, plus a small bundle of three that are for the tach and other gauges. Do I need a mechanical cabel out of the control box? If so that is the problem. I know I am a doo doo head at the moment but its my first boat.<br /><br />Steve

MajBach

Chief Petty Officer