Need some advice - boat shopping

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to buy a boat. I want something that will have adequate weekend accomodations for my wife and son (head, galley, etc) This pretty much puts me in the 23ish+' arena.

We plan on using the boat in the SF Bay area with some offshore excursions.

I have limited offshore experience and was wondering if I should be concerned about going out with an I/O? My previous boat was a 21' Century I/O, but I used that primarily in the lakes around here. I'm scared that if the bellows blow 10 miles out, I'm screwed (or sunk :'( )

My price range is capped at about $15k or so. There are plenty of 1980's 25-30' I/O cruisers in this range. A lot of Bayliner, Wellcraft, some Sea Ray.

So, in light of my proposed use of the boat, does anyone have any ideas for me (manufacturer, model, etc) ? I'm (obviously) looking for the best and safest bang for my buck. I feel like I've been looking forever and just can't seem to settle on anything.

Also, I'm in Northern California. If anyone has something for sale close-by, drop me a line.

Thanks in advance!

bjcsc

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Need some advice - boat shopping

Be careful on eBay. Every one of the links firestar posted is a classic example of shill bidding. On the non-linked auction, the bidders' IDs are "private",i.e. designed to hide the shill. Never bid on any auction with a lot of activity from a zero feedback bidder, private IDs, or a seller with private feedback. Never!

Agreed, bjcsc. I wonder how/if eBay will ever become an honest forum?:|

bjcsc

Lieutenant Commander

Honestly, it's no different than anything else. Most people are on the up and up, but you have to learn how to spot the ones that aren't...

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

just came back from the Florida Keys, when you look around, what i noticed the locals, are running large boats with twin 4 stroke outboards.

bjcsc

Lieutenant Commander

tashasdaddy said: