Need Opinions on 1999 Stratos 283 F/S Intruder

rpr

Cadet
I am a newbie about to pickup my first boat. I am looking at a 1999 Stratos 283 F/S (fish and ski) Intruder with a 150 HP Johnson. It's very clean, comes with a cover, bimini top, MotorGuide trolling motor, 2 live wells and a Lowrance.<br /><br />It will be mostly for fishing (on a lake that can get pretty rough), but will also occassionally be used for pleasure with friends.<br /><br />I can get it for approx. $13,000. Any thoughts??? :confused:

rpr

Cadet
Re: Need Opinions on 1999 Stratos 283 F/S Intruder

C'mon guys...I need some help.<br /><br />I am supposed to demo the boat on Friday and I don't have a clue what to look for. Could't even tell you what type of compression readings I should look for.<br /><br />Help?

shuff

Cadet

Take it to a dealer and have it checked out. The few dollars you spend will be worth it whether you buy the boat or not. If the current owner resists, you can probably guess why. As for the 283 Stratos, that is what I have and I love it. Handles rough water well, excellent for two people to fish from a little tight for more than that. Lots of storage and large livewells. It has plenty of room for 4 adults if you are just riding.

snapperbait

Vice Admiral