need help with cleaning engine

garzaglass

Seaman
1979 75hp evinrude
the last time i was out last season the engine seemed like it was not getting enough gas the more throttle i gave it. i found out later about how i should have been running the gas out of it every time i was done for the day because of the oil build up. i had run the boat several times without doing this so i hope that its just an oil build up problem. from reading the threads i have seen some things i should do to fix this problem (clean carbs, float bowls, needles ect...) the problem is i dont know where or how to do this. I am new to mechanical work on boat engines. if there is a thread with pictures that show what these things look like that would be a great help. i know how these things work and what they are for i just need a starting place. also the engine has been sitting since aug 07 with gas in it and 10 gallons of gas in my gas tank (mixed). can i still use this gas if i add a additive to it or will i have to throw it out and start over?

thanks for all the help.

jtexas

Fleet Admiral
Re: need help with cleaning engine

your carbs are remarkably simple devices compared to, say, automotive carbs...three fixed jets, no needle valves. but I wouldn't try it without a repair manual. a factory shop manual is a great investment, will pay for itself many times over. try kencook.com or marineengine.com . iboats has the seloc manual - it has some good information but covers so many models it's kinda confusing in places. carb kits about $12 apiece on iboats.

meanwhile, don't run it like it is - any cylinders starving for fuel are also not getting oil.

You'll also want to do a compression test and spark test.