Need help/opinions about Mercruiser 3.0L

Hello,

Newb here and to boating but not mechanical/motor work. Anyhow I picked up a boat (1995 Wellcraft Excel) last year at the end of the season real cheap. I took it to the marina last week to have some things checked out and found out that the block and manifold were cracked.:( The old owner said he winterized it two years ago and has not used it since. Do I try to fix the block or do I replace it?

Thanks in advance for your help
Chris

Juniinc

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Need help/opinions about Mercruiser 3.0L

replace it!

bomar76

Lieutenant Commander

The bad news is you bought a boat without at least running it on muffs and got screwed.

The good news is most 3.0's far outlive whatever hull they were installed in.

I am not a proponent of the JB Weld techinique, BUT, if the engine doesn't show water in the oil when run - or cooling system holds pressure, you might be able to slather it with JB Weld where they usually crack and get by. There are tons of 3 liters out there toting around a lot of JB Weld on them.

You would have to pressurize the block cooling system to see if it holds pressure to see if this is even possible since the manifold is shot. You still would need a new manifold.

seaslsush

Cadet

its a gm block but was only used in marine and hyster forklifts
nothing else will work

The bad news is you bough a boat without at least running it on muffs and got screwed.

The good news is most 3.0's far outlive whatever hull they were installed in.

I am not a proponent of the JB Weld techinique, BUT, if the engine doesn't show water in the oil when run - or cooling system holds pressure, you might be able to slather it with JB Weld where they usually crack and get by. There are tons of 3 liters out there toting around a lot of JB Weld on them.