Need Help! 35hp Johnson dropping a cylinder

Cougar_15

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hi all,
I am fairly new to outboard motors and I am having a problem with my motor that I don't know how to troubleshoot. The motor is a 1976 Johnson 35 hp. I am at a cottage with the boat in the water. The first time I took the boat out, it seemed to be running OK except that it would seem to miss or skip from time to time at medium-low throttle. Once I gave it a little more throttle it stopped missing and seem to be running fine until I shut down the motor. Once it was shut down, I had a hard time getting it started and once I was able to start it there was no power. The best I could tell, it was only running on one cylinder. I limped back to the dock and pulled the plugs, the bottom plug was fine but the top plug was wet and oily. I cleaned the plugs and took it out again and the same thing happened, it ran pretty much ok (both cylinders firing with occasional miss at medium-low and fine at WOT) until I turned the motor off and then a hard start and only running on the lower cylinder. I tried replacing the plugs and had the same results.

So, my first guestion what could be causing the top plug to foul?

My second question is , is there anything I can try with the boat in the water to get it working? I only have access to a limited selection of tools until I get the boat back home at the end of the week...

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Need Help! 35hp Johnson dropping a cylinder

you only have one carb, so it can't be that. you probably have a coil bad, on the top cylinder, so it is not firing.

Cougar_15

Petty Officer 3rd Class

I just spoke with a tech at the local marina and he said that the symptoms sounded more like bad breaker points rather than an ignition coil, does this make sense? Is there a way to test the coil/points to determine which one it is???

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus