My New Orleans

jtexas

Fleet Admiral
Okay, I know I have nothing to complain about. The wife & I never went to New Orleans more than once or twice a year, just to wander through the Quarter, ettoufe or shrimp & oyster po-boys with lettuce & onions and remoulade or sauce picant, & a couple fresh fruit daquiri's at Tujaque's. Hardly seems worth the trouble now, of renting a car & finding safe downtown parking.<br /><br />New Orleans is where I decided to propose, in 1982, at Brennan's on Royal Street. Couple months before I graduated LSU, I had a job interview with Southern Bell. I invited my girlfriend, we'd met 6 weeks prior & been going out 5 weeks. Couldn't afford a downtown hotel so we stayed out in Fat City (Metaire). At Brennan's every table feels like its own room; only illumination is the candles, the waiters & busboys know how to deliver & pick up dishes without making a sound. I remember all the details, oysters bienville, stuffed red snapper & trout muniere, bananas foster, Grand Marnier & chicory, the green dress. First time in my life I ever dropped a c-note on a meal for two. I decided to propose; I had a tendancy toward risky behavior in those days, but I knew better than to take that step on the spur of the moment. We got engaged the next night. <br /><br />I found out later that while I was interviewing at Ma Bell, she went over to St. Louis Cathedral on Jackson Square, to light a candle to St. Jude, patron saint of hopeless causes. I never had a chance.<br /><br />Didn't get that job, so I never lived in New Orleans. But I've always known she would be there for me. I'm kind of starting to miss her.<br /><br />Thanks for listening.

kenimpzoom

Rear Admiral
Re: My New Orleans