Moving a boat with no trailer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

IHDiesel73L

Seaman
I need some ideas here-I have come into possession (well, almost) of an MFG Carefree 14' that has been sitting in a neighbor's yard for nearly 6 years. The trailer has sunken into the ground, the tires are of course shot, and the wheels have about rusted through. I don't think there is any hope of making the trailer functional enough just to get it down the street to my house. It's sitting in a tight spot between a shed and a fence, and even if we were to jack up the trailer and put new wheels and tires on it I'm betting that the hubs/spindles are completely seized up. According to the brochures however, the Carefree only weighs 390 lbs? I'm new to the boating world but for some reason that seems light to me-could that be right? I'm sure it's a bit heavier because I'm fairly certain that the foam/plywood under the deck has soaked up quite a bit of water over the years, but at most maybe 450? There's nothing else in the boat and there's no motor on it. I suppose I could also take the seats out before we move it since they're shot anyway. If that's that case I'm thinking that maybe me, my neighbor, my brother, and and brother-in-law, and one more neighbor might be able to carry it to my house with three guys at the stern and two at the bow. Does that sound like it might work?

BuzzStPoint

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Moving a boat with no trailer?

How far away is this?
close enough to just drag the trailer?

If with a couple of guys and a case a beer you should be able to pick up the whole boat and set it in the back of your pickup. Tie it down real tight.
Now if you dont want to put it in the back of a pickup. a couple of these would work
00185_lg.jpg

heck a rope and a few skateboards would work.

Edit..

Just reminded me.. if this guy can do it on the highway you can do it down the street :D:D:D
295f8_problemjustusealogp1.gif

wifisher

Chief Petty Officer