More musky fun

FLATHEAD

Commander
Got out today for a bit on the lake. The bass bite was slow so I decided to throw some of this musky stuff. I am new to the musky game so I figured the practice would do me good. Found a shaded cove out of the wind and on my first cast I threw a 5 inch spook in firetiger, as I am walking the dog back to the boat I see a swrill behind the lure :eek: Holy smokes it was a big un and it was following my lure. As I got the lure close to the boat low and behold a musky and a nice one at that made a pass directly under the lure. Beginners luck I guess. Figure eight the lure with no result. ( figure eight with a big ole spook aint easy) I threw back the same lure two more times and nothing. I grab one of my bass rods with a jointed rapalla in firetiger and chucked in the general direction. Then Bam!! the fight was on for about 20 seconds :( That dude ripped that 12 pound test like it was thread. He rapped around a branch from a submerged tree. I think I am going to like this musky stuff :D . I learned today that I need two heavy rods along from now on.

neumanns

Lieutenant Commander
Re: More musky fun

Go and get me all excited like that,... season don't even start here till june 5th. :( Sure gets the blood boiling though don't it. ;)

gonfishn

Commander

Ahhhhhhh yes..Them Tigers will short time anything less than the real strong rigs..Got your blood a boiling huh? just think had she hit when you were doing the figure of eight and hit it next to boat..You did good ..they generally won't leave the area and usually return to same territory.<br /><br />Remember that spot she probably will hang around there until the water temps go up..Saltfork is gettn closer and hope to see you there..Hope you been gettn my emails..

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

One more testimonial for the throwback technique, but you gotta have gear strong enough to survive. :eek:

mellowyellow

Vice Admiral