Mercury 90 4stroke on tempest prop upgrade

Ricelake

Recruit
Hey guys I've just bought a 2015 tempest 175 with a mercury 90 four stroke. The boat weighs 1010 lbs. It's got a 13x19 prop and on the gauges I'm getting 49/50mph at 5200 RPM.

I've read the motors are capable of 6000 rpm. I'm happy with the low end and hell I'm impressed with the top end. But who doesn't want more speed haha.

I'm new to props. I'm thinking I'd like to have a prop to hang on the wall thats for top speed. I realize I'll loose some bottom end but I'll keep the 13x19 for that.

Any suggestions? I'm not sure if I need a 14x17 or a 13x21 or a 4 blade or if I even know what I'm talking about. Haha

Thanks in advance!

QBhoy

Fleet Admiral
Hi

first off I think you need to get accurate speed and rpm numbers. I’d suspect you might be on or over the verge of impossible numbers there ?

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
Well a 4 Blade is the way to go, if you want a lower top speed. What is your Engine's WOT range? "I've read the motors are capable of 6000 rpm" doesn't cut it. Some 90s in that era, have an rpm range of 5000 - 5500, others 5000 - 6000. You need to know what it is

Now if the engine is running at a RPM lower than the in Upper Half of the WOT range, you will need to decrease Pitch.

49/50 mph on a 17 ft with a 90 is actually pretty good, and to go faster will likely take a bigger engine

achris

More fish than mountain goat
Hello Ricelake and :welcome: aboard.

As engines may not be the same year as the boat they are bolted to (have a look at my boat and engine to see a great example of how and why that happens ;)) we ask that you post the serial number of the engine so we all know exactly what you have. I have just been through this with another post, the engine is actually 4 years older than the boat... so, the year of the boat only tells us the year of the boat, nothing about the engine.