Mercury 170 hp black max HELP!!

lazydayz

Cadet
Hi,

New member here and totally new member to the boating world. I am a total noob so please excuse my dumb questions and clueless answers....heres my issue.

I just purchased a 1977 witchcraft. It has a Mercury Outboard that says V6 Black MAX on it. I was told it was 170 HP.

My issue: When first starting the motor I need to spray starter fluid into the carbs while i try to start the motor. I have pumpped fuel into the motor by pressing on the squeeze thingy...(very NOOB). It will eventually start, but i wanted to know what the problem is and if I can try to fix myself...

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks.

j_martin

Admiral
Re: Mercury 170 hp black max HELP!!

Hi,

New member here and totally new member to the boating world. I am a total noob so please excuse my dumb questions and clueless answers....heres my issue.

I just purchased a 1977 witchcraft. It has a Mercury Outboard that says V6 Black MAX on it. I was told it was 170 HP.

My issue: When first starting the motor I need to spray starter fluid into the carbs while i try to start the motor. I have pumpped fuel into the motor by pressing on the squeeze thingy...(very NOOB). It will eventually start, but i wanted to know what the problem is and if I can try to fix myself...

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks.

First off, the fuel carries the lubricating oil to the engine. When you spray a solvent into the carbs (starting fluid) you wash off the oil. Do that a few times, and you can just junk the bone that's left.

Good fuel, good (and well timed) spark, compression, and it's gotta go. If the motor is completely unknown to you, you need to do a physical examination on it.
Compression test 120 or so on each cylinder, all within 10%.
Check for dripping carbs. (flooding) rebuild carbs if needed
Check for dry plugs (no fuel) rebuild carbs if needed
Check the condition of the fuel system components, fuel pump and hoses.