Mercruiser 3.0L vs. anything bigger??

rv8tor

Cadet
Hi all. I am new to boating and to this forum, and am looking for a 18' or 19' bowrider for the family.

I would like the capability to be able to a skiier (or two?) and/or a wakeboarder. We are a family of 4 with a tall teenage son and a smaller tween.

I have heard from several places that the 3.0L Merc. might not be sufficient for my needs. I would like to hear from 3.0 owners who use this engine/drive for skiing/wakeboarding, and I would like to know of honest opnions about this engine choice.

There are an aweful lot of nice boats for sale with this engine, and a smaller percentage for sale with the 4.3L Merc or bigger.

I know the 4.3 would certainly do the trick, but I would hate to pass up on a very nice boat with the 3.0 if that engine is, in fact, sufficient.

Whadduya say guys??

Jeff

Gryphon

Seaman
Re: Mercruiser 3.0L vs. anything bigger??

I have a 19' Bayliner 195 Discovery with a 3.0L and it does the job. There are tricks to help such as trim tabs (for skiing) and 4 or 5 blade lower pitch prop to help with the hole shot, or tower. Only thing I would worry about is having 7 people every time when doing that. It works fine for us with 2-4 people in the boat.

NoKlu

Senior Chief Petty Officer

oops! has a 140 hp 3 litre in his 19 bayliner and we pull a skier with 3 adults in the boat all the time. It's not a boat you can load up with 6 and expect it to be a rocket but with 4 people it runs fine and pulls a skier and tube without any problem . The bonus is they are easy on gas. If you buy used try and weigh the boat as if the foam is full of water it will slow the boat down with the extra weight.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

For a 19' I'd definitely want a 4.3. For a 17 or 18 a 3.0 would be adequate.

jkust

Rear Admiral