Mercruiser 3.0 ignition WAY advanced???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phil527

Cadet
2002 Mercruiser 3.0 with Alpha one sterndrive, new to us 1.5 years ago and slowly working through all the repairs from P/O that was not too mechanical. I am new to boats, but fairly experienced with cars, tractors, etc. Knowing the condition I did the basics - new plugs, wires, cap and rotor, oil and gear oil changes. I checked the compression with the plugs out and they range from 130 -145 psi. With a shot of oil in the pistons they all hit 175-180. Probably some ring wear, but for an 02 and from what I have read it is not too far off normal. First time in the water last summer it stalled in the marina, when I restarted the starter bolts snapped and it dropped to the bottom of the boat! One bolt was broken for a while and I never noticed. Pulled the engine in the fall, extracted both bolts and replaced. I added the back bracket as well this time.

Finally got the boat out this summer and no power above 2000 rpm. Engine pings like crazy at 2500 rpm. Tells me timing. I put a light on and I can't find anything that looks like a mark on the crank pulley. Rotate crank manually and find the v-notch and hit it with a sharpie. I put it at the 0 mark and verify the rotor is pointing to the #1 spark plug wire. I jumper the distributor wires and shift interrupter per the manual I have and check the timing. Still can't find the timing mark, I adjust the timing advance on my light and find it at 32 degrees with the module jumped out. When I put things back to normal and dial back the timing light until the v-notch is at 12 BTDC I am 32 degrees advanced as well.

Is this a typical failure mode of the ignition module? I would have thought they would fail by not advancing. Any other possibilities I should be looking at that would cause a 32 degree advance?

Phil

alldodge

Staff member
What is the motor serial number?

Most the motors today are timed using an advance timing light.