Marine Vs. Standard Block, Differences

DrCox

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hello,

I am new to the boating world but am looking forward to getting into a new and vast world of knowledge. I have a simple question as to Marine inboards. With the exception of the obvious components like heat exchanger, exhaust, and bell housings; what is keeping someone from taking...say a 4.3L chevy Vortec out of an S-10 and retrofitting it with all the marine add-ons.
They way I understand cooling I guess is pretty elementary...but again I am new so I guess I should not be afraid to ask questions.

Thanks in advance!

-DrCox

achris

More fish than mountain goat
Re: Marine Vs. Standard Block, Differences

Apart from different cam profile and different pistons, the water pump impeller is cast brass, not pressed steel, and the freeze plugs are either brass or stainless, not mild steel. This doesn't even start on ignition, charging, starting or fuel systems....

Chris.........

DrCox

Petty Officer 2nd Class

And this is why you are a captain :)

Thanks achris!

-DrCox

Uraijit

Banned

Hello,

I am new to the boating world but am looking forward to getting into a new and vast world of knowledge. I have a simple question as to Marine inboards. With the exception of the obvious components like heat exchanger, exhaust, and bell housings; what is keeping someone from taking...say a 4.3L chevy Vortec out of an S-10 and retrofitting it with all the marine add-ons.
They way I understand cooling I guess is pretty elementary...but again I am new so I guess I should not be afraid to ask questions.

Thanks in advance!

-DrCox

Like others have said, the only real difference between a truck 4.3 and a marine 4.3, is the head gaskets, and the brass freeze plugs.