Maiden Voyage Breakdown 1988 Force 85

O.T.Water

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hi All, need advise. Bought this boat with an empty tank. Installed a water/fuel filter and a new feed line. It wouldnt prime with the ball, so I sucked fuel to the ball, yuck! Pumped it hard and went to the river. Fired it up and ran for a few hours then died. Empty ball, so I sucked it to the ball again, fired it up and ran a little while and died. Empty ball again. Towed in. It was rough out and I'm wondering if the pickup screen got clogged. Any Ideas? Maybe a good tank cleaning! Thankx O.T.:redface:

jeff_smith_0423

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Maiden Voyage Breakdown 1988 Force 85

Sounds like check valves in the primer ball. Replace it.

However, with a new-to-you boat, there's a half dozen things you should do before putting it in the water. I probably would not have launched if I couldn't prime the motor with the ball.

I'm not a Force expert so I can't offer advice specific to your engine - just read your thread and wanted to put you somewhere towards the right track.

O.T.Water

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Jeff, 1/2 dozen other things, I'm all ears and don't mind working. Ty, O.T.

pnwboat

Rear Admiral

You may also have a check valve in the primer ball that is bad. Easy enough to fix. Buy a new one.

If that doesn't fix the problem, then you most likely have some blockage in the tank. I assume it's a built in tank. If you can get to the part of the tank where the fuel gauge sending unit is located, you can remove it and look into the tank. Just follow the wires to the tank. Most fuel sending units have a round cover and are held in place with 5 screws.

O.T.Water

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Yes, built in tank and I do have an access to the sending unit. Good idea to do that before pulling the tank if it's not necessary. Thankx

jeff_smith_0423

Chief Petty Officer

Jeff, 1/2 dozen other things, I'm all ears and don't mind working. Ty, O.T.