Lowrance HDS9 Gen 2 Touch issue

jwilly82ca

Recruit
I have been buying Lowrance products for over 40 years but am frustrated with a current issue.
I have a Lowrance HDS9 Gen 2 Touch installed on my Grady White. Periodically, for no apparent reason, the sonar screen will become filled with red and blue colors (picture), This will last for a couple of minutes and then start to scroll accurately again. Problem occurs in shallow and ocean depths. I sent the unit to Lowrance and they said after 8 hrs bench testing they could not find a problem. They suggested I buy a new transducer. I spent $200 on the transducer and it did not correct the problem. Anyone out there with knowledge of a similar issue and a remedy? ThankHDS9 Gen 2 Touch.jpg

dingbat

Supreme Mariner
Looks like your loosing or have lost your sonar signal or return. Could be a problem in the pulse generator circuit.

Could be signal saturationp.

How much water are you in?
New or existing installation?

Last edited:

jwilly82ca

Recruit
Thanks for replying... The depth doesn't seem to matter. It can occur in less than 100' or when I stop on a kelp patty in 3,000'. In the latter situation, it used to clearly show bait fish and predators under the kelp. Now, in the latter situation,, it often will display the issue in the picture. Then, suddenly, it will start working properly and the scrolling cleans up regardless of the depth.

dingbat

Supreme Mariner
Thanks for replying... The depth doesn't seem to matter. It can occur in less than 100' or when I stop on a kelp patty in 3,000'. In the latter situation, it used to clearly show bait fish and predators under the kelp. Now, in the latter situation,, it often will display the issue in the picture. Then, suddenly, it will start working properly and the scrolling cleans up regardless of the depth.
Nothing to do with depth….how deep where you when you took the picture?

In manual or auto?
New installation?
Do it with motor and or ignition off?

jwilly82ca

Recruit