lost

Texan_Ron

Cadet
I am new to i/o's and this weekend buying a project boat 79' srv220 sea ray with a 260 mercruiser the seller had engine rebuilt 6 years ago then let the boat set in open storage 5 years and as we all know open storage is asking for problems all of the interior was stolen/damaged the engine has about 50 hours on before stored but he did not fogged the engine what should be the first step before hooking a battery to engine also what would the outdrive be on this boat?

Boomyal

Supreme Mariner
Re: lost

First, Have the owner pay you to haul it away. After that, pull the plugs, squirt Magic Marvel Mystery oil down the cylinders, rotate the engine numerous times, with breaker bar via the crank pulley. The engine may be seized up so you may have to let it soak overnight. Once able to turn engine, as above, change the oil, take well charged battery, pull the coil wire and try to crank it over till the oil pressure guage comes off the peg. Run the starter in short bursts otherwize you'll burn it out.<br /><br />Once done, if you can, prime the carbuerator float bowl, squirt a little gas down each barrel and let her rip. The gas is undoubtedly rotten so at some point you should get it out da tank. You might also throw in a can of additive in the event you have any moisture in the gas.<br /><br />After the motor, you'll at least want to check the fluids in the outdrive, eventually changing them b4 you use the boat. Watch engine temperature carefully. Sitting that long you could have a brittle then broken impeller in the outdrive. It should show pretty quick if the temp passes the 160 mark<br /><br />Then get ready to follow all of the posts here re rebuilding the floor and stringers.<br /><br />ps I'll be flying down to Houston next Thursday to pick up a suburban a friend bought on ebay. Then take 3 days to drive it back. Keep the good weather on for me.

loadnet

Petty Officer 1st Class