Losing power steering fluid

jayzad

Seaman Apprentice
I’m a newbie to site and boating.<br />Is this Manufacture still in business? See signature below for specs<br />Is there a repair manual out there that will cover both the engine and the Alpha One drive both? Will I have to buy 2 separate ones? I looked at manuals listed at this site with no results ret. I’ve also looked in the section at this link for help to my problem, http://www.outboardrepairs.com/steering/ <br />Have you seen very many of these power steering pumps on these type of boats go bad? <br />I can’t get to the boat now, stored for the winter.<br />The pump is losing fluid, I know to look for obvious leaks at connection, but beside the pump being bad what other major components may be bad?

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Losing power steering fluid

Is there a repair manual out there that will cover both the engine and the Alpha One drive both?
Yes there is, unfortunatly, they are junk.<br /><br />
Will I have to buy 2 separate ones?
Yes, if you buy the OEM manuals. Here is a link to the Merc manuals.<br /><br />Order Merc Manuals <br /><br />
The pump is losing fluid, I know to look for obvious leaks at connection, but beside the pump being bad what other major components may be bad?
I have seen every part of the system go bad. It's possible to list every part in the system as a possiblility of leaking, but it's just a typing exercise. Without finding your own leak you're just guessing.<br /><br />Here is a link to an online OEM service manual for your drive, it includes the section on power steering.<br />Just run your cursor over the cover and index page to find the links to different sections.<br /><br /> http://www.boatfix.com/merc/Servmanl/6/6covr3.pdf <br /><br />Sorry, there isn't an online manual for your engine that I am aware of.

jayzad

Seaman Apprentice