looking to buy a boat with a OMC 5.0 Cobra

Tim45

Cadet
hello, please re direct me if I am in the wrong forum, I'm new to this.

I found a boat, at a boat mechanic, he is asking $4,500.00 and it seems a little high.

Upholstery is destroyed as well at the carpet. But he told me the value was in the 5.0 cobras he let me know people don't like to work on them but it was a "decent" motor...

Pictures are below, motor is not operational at this momment but, he would get it operating flawlessly and give me a 90 day warranty on it.

Let me know of any questions I need to ask.. looking for a good deal on a project boat.. i have a connection for upholstery i can get it done at cost.

jbcurt00

Staff member
For 4500, there are no questions you should ask...

Simply walk away....

A trashed interior and a non-op motor do not suggest a good boat for 500, including a trailer thats towable as is.

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
any boat with an OMC drive is going to be past its life, especially with a shot interior, which means that its guaranteed to not been stored indoors, so the hull is probably rotten.

OMC went out of business a long time ago

the boat at most is $500 for the trailer and what ever parts you could sell. as a boat, its probably going to take close to $5k to get it restored to safe and useable. if its a ford 5.0, its worth less

Tim45

Cadet
He's willing to negotiate, and he said he would get the motor operating flawlessly with $500 of his own money...

I was thinking of offer $3,000.00 contingent on the motor "operating flawlessly "

Tim45

Cadet
Point taken. What is considered a good project boat? Any specific year and makes? What are some good motors to look around for?

Scott Danforth

Staff member
stay away from anything OMC for an I/O. stay away from Ford motors. I would also stay away from any boat older than 2000. stay away from bayliners.