Looking forward to cheaper gas, but bad news for me.

kenimpzoom

Rear Admiral
I work in the oil field, this is bad news, less wells will be drilled in the future, based on this news. Good news for others.<br /><br />Ken<br /><br /><br /> Oil Market Glutted With Crude, Presenting Challenge for OPEC <br /> FWN Select Monday, November 15, 2004 <br /> <br /> <br /> <br />Oil traders uniformly say physical markets are glutted with crude, which could portend lower prices ahead if producers don't take steps to rein in supply. <br /><br />The looming oversupply was masked for a while by production outages caused by Hurricane Ivan. But with Gulf of Mexico output recovering significantly in recent weeks, heavy production since May by the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries appears finally to be catching up with the market. <br /><br />A plethora of crudes are sloshing around the refinery-rich U.S. Gulf Coast where buyers have been put off by high contract prices and end-of-year tax considerations that make it economically advantageous to run down their crude inventories. Refiners' profit margins have also eased over the past month, lowering demand. <br /><br />The surplus is not just of lower-quality heavy and high-sulfur crudes, but also more valued lighter and sweeter grades - and it's growing even as Middle Eastern producers like Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and Iraq offer deep discounts or twist arms to get buyers to take more crude. <br /><br />The glut is putting pressure on OPEC to take the politically unpalatable step of cutting back output at a time when oil prices, while falling, remain very high. <br /><br />"It is too early to take about a bearish market just yet, but we do see the market weakening," said Leo Drollas, chief economist at the Centre for Global Energy Studies. <br /><br />"To say there is too much oil in this market is putting it mildly," said a trader at one of the biggest U.S. refiners. "OPEC needs to cut, but they obviously have internal and ex