looking for a marina

sergioy

Petty Officer 1st Class
I've got a big dilema. I have found a marina that is for sale, that I would love to have. Now it is a huge investment (really huge). But I think it will at least pay for itself and then some. My wife sees a liability (money wise) I see nothing but potential. This thing is sitting on 15 acres with only about 4 being used. It seems that the guy that is currently running it has not done much with it except except kept it running.<br />I am not a business owner, so that is a big strike against me, but i've got heart. I am currently a software engineer, but I am tired of worrying about my job every single day :( Owning and running a marina is more my speed. <br />What do you guys think? Should I stay in the corporate abyss that is my job, or take the plunge?

D

DJ

Re: looking for a marina

water_surge,<br /><br />My brother and I have the same desire/dream.<br /><br />We have looked into many. Several things keep coming up.<br /><br />1. What is the season for the location. It's hard to survive on a three or four month boating season.<br /><br />2. What is the reputation of the current owner? If it's bad, you'll have several dry years before your good service starts to be noticed.<br /><br />3. Check with the EPA. The, the last thing you want is to buy the property and then have the EPA come in and condemn it as a "superfund" site. That almost happened to us. :eek: Be especially careful if there has been fuel stored on site.<br /><br />4. If you want to have fuel available, check FIRST with the DNR. Some lakeferont fuel sites are "grandfathered" and are not transferable to a new owner.

eeboater

Commander

Hey water... thats also been a dream of mine. One that is a loooong way off.<br /><br />America is built with people like you. I know this seems like an errant response, but I say go for it!!!!<br /><br />(As long as what DJ said checks out of course!)<br /><br />Sean

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus