Life and boats

rickl

Cadet
While reading the replies YAMADOG receive on a question he posted (Boating really is " The Greatest", right?) I notice this comment made by esCape:<br />...“My main regret is waiting to get a dependable boat until after my boys were too old to be able to spend much time on the boat with me.<br /><br />I spent countless lost weekends fixing the old boat or can't go on a trip because the old boat was acting up, but the boys wanting to be out on the water. I enjoy fixing the boat as much as using it, but preteen and teenage boys want action. Now I have a dependable boat, but the boys have grown up and have their own lives.<br /><br />I should have bought a smaller but newer boat then, and fixed up the bigger boat now that I have time to myself.”.........<br /><br />esCape gave me food for though. I’ve been messing around with boats for the past 15 years, most of those years repairing, building, dreaming, and not allot of time in the water. I guess it’s my therapy and way of unwinding.<br />I’m now 41 and have 3 kids ages 13,10 and 1. I know, I know, the last thru me for a loop (She was unexpected) but still a blessing. I just wanted to point out the fact that some of us sometimes get so involve with our dreams of boating and quest for our perfect boat that we let time slip by.<br />We need to spend time on our boats with our kids, so they may someday do the same with theirs and they with their grandparents. Someone has to drive the boat when we get too old and have to ware diapers; it would be nice to have someone carry-on the boating tradition and our stories of the one that got away.<br /><br />esCape thank you!! You made me realize that I need to change my ways. :)

blifsey

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Life and boats