Lauching a boat solo

richep

Cadet
I am new to boats and was wondering what the procedure is for launching a boat in a typical fresh water boat launch? My boat is 14'. I notice most people have a partner to catch the boat after it is in the water while the driver parks the trailer. Thanks for any help.

brianhayes

Cadet
Re: Lauching a boat solo

I have a 19' boat and I always launch it by myself. What I do it this:<br /><br />1) Unhook the trailer lights<br />2) Back boat into water just enough to get the boat to float but still sitting on the trailer.<br />3) Climb over the front and jump in and start the engine. ( no point in taking the boat off the trailer if it wont start)<br />4) Climb back off the the boat and unhock the bow line ( not sure what it's called but the strap that hooks to the front of the bow)<br />5) Push the boat off of the trailer while using the dock line to hold onto the boat.<br />6) While holding onto the dock line, I climb onto the dock and tie the boat to the dock.<br />7) Go park the truck.<br /><br />To load, I do the revears, and us the dock line to pull the boat back onto the trailer.<br /><br />and use the bow strap to wench the boat back onto the trailer.<br /><br />Hope this helps... FYI... I made plenty of mistakes doing this the first few times.<br /><br />Brian Hayes

djvan

Chief Petty Officer

This tiime of year is a good time to practice as the boat traffic has slowed considerably. Find a ramp that is not busy and practice a few times. I've seen different methods by different people, you'll have to find a method that works best for you. If there are others waiting to launch, let them go ahead, if you are like me and feel rushed, that is usually when I make mistakes.<br /><br />DougV>

richep

Cadet

Thanks for the tips. One problem I see is all the boat lauches dont have anywhere to tigh off. Just grass and mud. Maybe the anchor will keep from floating away?

karrick

Petty Officer 1st Class